New X-Men: DOFP Trailer is Underwhelming


As consistent viewers know, I have been quite vocal about my worries with the new X-Men movie; X-Men: Days of  Future Past has had underwhelming trailers, a bloated cast, and some questionable character designs. The synopsis of the new X-Men movie has Wolverine traveling to the past to prevent a cataclysmic event that results in the doom of humans and mutants. Now whether you are familiar with the ‘Days of Future Past’ storyline or not, this is a big story with a lot of moving parts.

But I am not going to bore you with how I think the movie cannot live up to the comics because the filmmakers will never be able to please every fan. However, I have not seen a good X-Men movie since Singer’s X2: yes, this means I did not like X-men: First Class. As a fan of Matthew Vaughn’s Kick Ass and Stardust, I was disappointed to find the tone of First Class all over the place; and at the same time, the ‘class’ of mutants were uninteresting compared to Fassbender’s Magneto and McAvoy’s Professor X. With that said, Vaughn has moved on and Bryan Singer has come back to direct.

While I should be happy with the return of Bryan Singer, his previous forays, Superman Returns and Jack the Giant Slayer, calls into question his passion for filmmaking; while neither were terrible films, both feel like they were made by a bored director.  Furthermore, the return of the major cast worries me when you take a step back and look at the bigger picture. How big is this cast before it is too much? Who are the main characters? How did the writers dictate screen time? Will the over abundance of characters ruin the movie like X-Men: The Last Stand? I hope not, but so far the trailers have not quieted these worries. This is not saying I will skip the summer release because I probably will see this day one; however, I have the feeling that when I talk about the most disappointing films of 2014, X-Men: Days of Future Past will be in that conversation. Hopefully I am wrong and I will have to eat my words; but I cannot ‘shake the feeling’ that this movie will be a critical bust. Again, perhaps this is my cynicism, but this superhero epic did not even make my list of Ten Most Anticipated Films of 2014 (February-August) and it feels like the newest installment of X-Men will be the Spider-Man 3 of 2014.

What are your thoughts about the new X-Men movie? Do you disagree with my worries? Please comment in the section below.

Leave a Reply

